Who Are The Best? Boone and Crockett Vs Pope and Young Scores For Whitetail Bucks

Boone and Crockett Vs Pope and Young Scores For Whitetail Bucks

In the classic battle between two hunters and their favorite trophy, Boone and Crockett was one of the most interesting contests in North American history. It was the first time a deer was scored in such an elaborate fashion. The Boone and Crockett Club is known for its strict rules, which are the same as those used in the Pope and Young Club. In addition to that, the competition is highly competitive, with hunters from different states trying to win their share. The Boone and Crockett Club awards a prize for each of the three categories, and the Pope and Young Club awards the highest score.

Typical whitetail bucks

When a hunter is trying to record a big whitetail buck for the Boone and Crockett Club, he might wonder if it’s realistic to expect that the buck he has shot will score the highest. Luckily, it doesn’t have to be a typical buck to qualify for the record books. Here’s a look at how Boone and Crockett vs. Pope and Young scores for whitetail bucks.

In scoring systems, the typical whitetail buck is scored based on the number of points on his antlers. In the case of boone and crockett club, this buck is considered a typical buck, if his main beam is over 10 points. A typical whitetail buck needs a frame of ten points or more to qualify for the top ten. Otherwise, he needs a beam that is exceptionally long to do so.

Non-typical whitetail bucks

During the 2019 Pope and Young Convention in Omaha, Nebraska, a special panel of judges considered the non-typical whitetail buck that Luke Brewster arrowed in Illinois during the archery season. The buck scored 327 7/8 points on the Pope and Young scale, making it the largest hunter-harvested whitetail in the record book. The hunter is planning to display the buck at the convention.

The two clubs have set different standards for non-typical whitetail deer entries. In order to be classified as non-typical, a buck must have at least 12 inches of non-typical tine. Hunters have historically moved to this category in order to improve their scores. However, the most recent change in the scoring system will determine which non-typical whitetail bucks are eligible for entry.

Black bear skulls eligible for entry

Black bear skulls can be legally harvested, but only those that are ten inches in length and more than twenty-five centimeters wide are eligible for entry. There is a standardized scoring method used by all three books. For each skull, length and width are measured from the base of the skull to the tip of the nose. Then, the two measurements are added to arrive at the overall score. The larger entry was harvested in the Utah mountains, while the other two were harvested illegally.

Scoring system

If you’ve ever been to a hunting show, you may have noticed that both the Pope and Young and Boone and Crockett record books feature different minimum scoring requirements. The Boone and Crockett minimum is 160 inches, while Pope and Young’s minimum is 125 inches. Each state uses a different scoring system, but both score the same thing: a typical whitetail buck must be at least 125 inches tall to qualify for a trophy. The minimum points required to qualify are also different, but the overall score is the same for both.

The Boone and Crockett Club began measuring big game animals over a century ago. They were specifically interested in keeping records of animal species that were thought to be on the verge of extinction. They also wanted to keep a record of the number of animals harvested illegally and unregulated. Today, both record books are used as a tool to measure conservation success and the success of wildlife management programs. The scores, and the club’s records, are closely associated with hunting ethics.

Typical whitetail buck

A typical whitetail buck is different from a non-typical one for several reasons. While the World’s Record and Number Two non-typical whitetails were found in Missouri, the number three was in Ohio. This non-typical buck scored 332 and 328 points, respectively. In the current P&Y record books, Stephen L. Tucker’s deer in Sumner County, Tennessee, is the third-best non-typical whitetail deer.

When comparing antler racks, there are some things you need to know. First, a typical whitetail buck has a rack that is symmetrical, while non-typical racks may have more points deducted for those features. Another important factor is the length of the main beam. The largest whitetails in the record books have beams over 2 feet. Among these were Brian Damery’s 200 2/8 inch buck and Jordan’s 30 inch buck.

Scroll to Top